Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Need a amd 64 cpu

  1. #11
    Yuk it up Monkey Boy! Airbozo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    In the Redwoods
    Posts
    5,270

    Default Re: Need a amd 64 cpu

    Quick note on this;

    I am _not_ a noob to pc's by any stretch and I just had a similar problem. Everything was plugged in properly, all connections tight, etc. I even had a couple of our engineers check it just in case I did something wrong. Found out I had plugged the _wrong_ 4 pin power connector into the mobo. I plugged in the one that is supposed to go to the video card. Hooked it up right and it came right on.

    One clue for me was that when I initially turned on the power switch and then hit the power, all the fans in the system jerked and stopped. had to remove the power cord and hit the power button to see it happen again. I removed both 4 pin power plugs and the system powered right up.

  2. #12
    Anodized
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Raliegh,NC
    Posts
    65

    Default Re: Need a amd 64 cpu

    Well I am a noob lol...Ill double check.
    My computer never did anything when i turned it on.

  3. #13
    Spam Sniper SgtM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    4,545

    Default Re: Need a amd 64 cpu

    Quote Originally Posted by TheDingo View Post
    My computer never did anything when i turned it on.
    it's definitely not the proc.. There is a power issue somewhere.

  4. #14

  5. #15
    Anodized
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Raliegh,NC
    Posts
    65

    Default Re: Need a amd 64 cpu

    I am getting my comp back today, had a busy weekend. Thanks for your check-up. After I look at it tonight Im sure Ill have a ? so I will be posting. Thanks a lot man

  6. #16
    Anodized
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Raliegh,NC
    Posts
    65

    Default Re: Need a amd 64 cpu

    Figured it out...
    There was a short in the psu. I got my computer back and was looking at it, it would turn on for only a few seconds and turn off, then we figured it out.

Similar Threads

  1. AMD Athlon 64 3800+ AMD 2
    By simon275 in forum Motherboards, Processors, & Power Supplies
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-02-2006, 01:35 PM
  2. Intel claim to have AMD by the short hairs with the next CPU.
    By DaveW in forum Motherboards, Processors, & Power Supplies
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-15-2006, 05:22 PM
  3. AMD processors
    By FynexFox in forum Motherboards, Processors, & Power Supplies
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-06-2006, 05:24 PM
  4. Project Silent Speed
    By sketchymodder in forum Works in progress
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-27-2005, 04:00 AM
  5. FS: AMD FX55 cpu (oem)
    By CompChopper in forum The Trading Post
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-28-2005, 08:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •