Thread: DOS Gaming Cabinet Project

Default DOS Gaming Cabinet Project

Hi folks,

I grew up on DOS gaming - think Grand Prix Circuit, Apogee shareware games, Pinball Fantasies and the like - and still have a couple of AT 486 / Pentium mobos / expansion cards that I've kept. Ever since I saw the MAME coffee tables I wanted to do something similar, as DOSBox isn't quite the same. Seeing as the AT boards are so small, I thought it might be quite easy to make an all-in-one unit for some genuine oldskool gaming.

I'm an experienced engineer, but aside from secondary-school CDT skills, I don't currently have the ability to make my own case. So I guess I'm either looking for an existing case MOD someone else has made that I can buy, or spend time learning how to do it myself.

The system would be based around an ASUS Socket 7 mobo with Pentium MMX 233 CPU (which actually can take an AT or ATX PSU connection) with USB & Serial headers and PS2 keyboard socket. I have various expansion cards (I'm guessing I could have 2 sound cards to accommodate 2 joysticks / gamepads), Voodoo graphics, and a 15" TFT.

What I need advice on is PSU options (are there any good external solutions or DC-powered internal adaptors?) and if any cases exist that might be appropriate.

Cheers.

Default Re: DOS Gaming Cabinet Project

Okay, in answer to one of my own questions, just found the PICO-PSU which looks adorable:

Couple more questions:

1. I'm guessing either a laptop drive or compactflash would be the best storage solution considering things like power consumption, heat and dimensions?
    2. I have a couple of Apple-manufactured slot-loading optical drives from old iBooks - if they're standard ATA I could potentially get an adaptor for their proprietary interface. Don't know if the standard DOS cd drivers would work with it though. Otherwise it's a 5.25" unit.