Thread: Newbie has some questions...

Default Newbie has some questions...

Hi everyone,

I was wondering if anyone could help me out with some small concepts that may be used in a future rig. I am very new to all of this modding and customizing and while computer literate, I am not all that savy with basic electronics. I will list the questions I have and if anyone can help, Thanks in advance!

1. Has anyone, or does anyone know how a remote key (as in to open your car door) can be used/manipulated to trigger a function? I would like to have one that can operate on/off switches.

2. Along the same lines, if this can be done, can an extra 2-way LCD pager (for a car alarm) be read and decoded so that multiple functions on the remote could operate multiple functions on a project?

3. I was wondering also if anyone can tell me how difficult it would be to get a computer to operate switches (that were once manual). e.g. like replacing the controls on the dashboard of a car for air cond., heater, fan speed, etc.. with computer commands that would route the appropriate signals to the hardware. I assume this requires some program writing knowledge, but I have no idea how involved it may be.

4. Does anyone know where one can find plans and a list of commonplace components to build a DIY watercooling system (aside from a heatercore from an engine) that a beginner (on a radically impaired budget) could use to construct his own watercooling system?

5. And lastly, has anyone ever tried using a dorm-sized refridgerator and putting the computer components in a vaccuum sealed container inside for a super-cooled computer or implement the parts from a fridge into a case mod?