Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 456789
Results 81 to 90 of 90

Thread: The TBCS Overclocking Thread

  1. #81
    . Spawn-Inc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,145

    Default Re: The TBCS Overclocking Thread

    how'd u manage that? (wife and free q6600) lol.
    CPU: Q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (4.2GHz max) / 4790k 4.8ghz @1.265v
    GPU: 9800GTX /GTX780 hydrocopper
    Ram: Samsung 4GB /gskill 16gb DDR3 1600
    Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32) /AsRock Extreme6
    PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt /EVGA 850 G2
    HDD: OCZ 120GB Vertex4, Samsung evo 840 250GB
    LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
    Sound: Logtiech Z 5500
    CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v

  2. #82
    Welder Of Aluminum bartvandenberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    453

    Default Re: The TBCS Overclocking Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Spawn-Inc View Post
    how'd u manage that? (wife and free q6600) lol.
    got the q6600 with a bunch of other parts for 300 bucks, sold a few of those parts to make the 300 bucks back. I was left with 4 gb's of PC8500, Q6600 and thermaltake moxart tx case for free. I thought it was a pretty sweet deal.

    as for my wife, i dont understand?

  3. #83
    Stupidity feeds my children blueonblack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2,616

    Default Re: The TBCS Overclocking Thread

    Ok, I made my first attempt at overclocking tonight, here's what I got:



    Idle temp is right around 47C, the temps shown were after an hour of Prime95 on blended. (The original post in this thread specified Orthos, but it would only stress two of the cores for some reason.) Core Temp would only display temp for a single core so I used AMD Overdrive.

    The CPU is air cooled with a Tuniq T-120 HSF, using a Thermaltake Silent Cat fan in place of the stock fan.

    Asus M4A79 Deluxe mainboard
    8 GB G-Skill RAM (timings and speed are shown, voltage is 2.0 per G-Skill specs)
    Running Vista Home Premium 64-bit

    Raised my 3DMark 06 score by 1200+.
    “Do not trust people like me. I will take you to museums, and parks, and monuments, and kiss you in every beautiful place, so that you can never go back to them without tasting me like blood in your mouth. I will destroy you in the most beautiful way possible, and when I leave you will finally understand why storms are named after people.”

  4. #84
    Welder Of Aluminum bartvandenberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    453

    Default Re: The TBCS Overclocking Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by blueonblack View Post
    Core Temp would only display temp for a single core so I used AMD Overdrive.

    really? i've got coretemp displaying all 4 cores. currently running at 33, 33, 31,31.

    47 seems really high for a idle temp though.

    not sure how accurate amd overdrive is though. anyone else know if its accurate or not?

    the only reason im concerned is 47 is high for an idle, and if your load temps are only 57, thats pretty good, but a 10 degree difference from idle to full load on air is, from what ive seen, unheard of. but thats could just be because its a deneb phenom? anyone else?

  5. #85
    Stupidity feeds my children blueonblack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2,616

    Default Re: The TBCS Overclocking Thread

    Hmmmmm.... Maybe there is a more recent version of Core Temp, looks like I'm using 0.98. It recognizes that I have four cores, it displays the frequency for all four, but on the bottom where the temps are it only has one number.

    On the 10-degree difference, I'm not sure, Overdrive may in fact not be all that accurate. What sort of spread should I see between idle and full load on air? Can you recommend a different program to measure temps?

    Edit: Ok, I downloaded version 0.99.4. There is an option in the System Tray Setup screen to "show all cores" but it's grayed out and unavailable?
    “Do not trust people like me. I will take you to museums, and parks, and monuments, and kiss you in every beautiful place, so that you can never go back to them without tasting me like blood in your mouth. I will destroy you in the most beautiful way possible, and when I leave you will finally understand why storms are named after people.”

  6. #86
    Console God LiTHiUM0XiD3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    in your nightmares
    Posts
    1,002

    Default Re: The TBCS Overclocking Thread


    need i rly add anymore? its validated and all

    stock clock is 1.6
    and this is done with BSEL mod only...
    the motherboard has absolutely no overclocking options so its all done by the pins (pads)

    im workin on a oldschool overclocking rig right now
    AMD athlon XP-M 2400+
    MSI KT3V DDR333
    512Mb DDR333 GEIL
    HIS Radeon 9250 128Mb 64bit

    not rly going for video overclock
    stock clock
    Athlon XP-M 2400+ 1800 MHz 512 KB 266 MT/s 13.5x 1.45v 45-53 W AXMH2400FQQ4C
    right now its at
    Athlon XP-M 2400+ 2302 MHz 512 KB 341 MT/s 13.5x 1.65v 79.2 W AXMH2400FQQ4C
    which is just about = to (im kinda counting the slightly higher FSB aswell)
    Athlon XP 3200+ 2333 MHz 512 KB 333 MT/s 14x 1.65v 79.2 W AXDA3200DKV4D

    so far this is only done by the FSB being adjusted
    (will post at 2.5Ghz but locks right after and u cant enter the cmos)
    and for some reason my multiplier cant be controlled from the BIOS but it can from windows
    so after i get the time...
    im goin to pinmod this puppy for a much higher voltage and go to town
    Quote Originally Posted by nevermind1534 View Post
    I wouldn't be surprised if somebody sigquotes part of this.

  7. #87
    Overclocked
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    265

    Default Re: The TBCS Overclocking Thread

    If Prime95 doesnt use all available cores, run multiple copies
    Current Mod
    AMD Athlon X2 7750 Black Edition 2.7GHz (Overclock Not Tested)
    OCZ 2x2GB DDR2 800Mhz GOLD XTC Memory
    Samsung HD502HI 500GB Hard Drive SATAII - Green Drive
    Zotac 9800GT Synergy Edition 512MB DDR3
    Artic Power 500W PSU
    Gigabyte GA-M57 SLI-S4 Rev. 2.0

  8. #88
    One Eye, Sixteen Cores. Kayin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Birmingham, AL
    Posts
    1,921

    Default Re: The TBCS Overclocking Thread



    4GHz.
    Project:Mithril, sponsored by Petra's Tech Shop and Sidewinder Computers-MOTM Nominee October '08




  9. #89
    The floppy drive is no longer obsolete. AmEv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Idaho, USA
    Posts
    3,052

    Default Re: The TBCS Overclocking Thread

    Overclocking?
    My 3Ghz board? None (that's intel for you lol)
    GPU? MSI Nvidia GeForce 4.
    Original: 250MHz core 333MHz DDR RAM
    New: 300MHz core 400MHz RAM


    Well, I got a very old slot 1 overclocking-capable board.
    Original: PIII 550 (100*5.5)
    New PIII 616 (112*5.5[multiplier locked ])
    Need to test again with PC133 and higher voltages......
    and identify the board.....
    Two years. They were great. Let's make the next ones even better!

    Tri.fecta

  10. #90
    Overclocked B1Gtime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    247

    Default Re: The TBCS Overclocking Thread

    i5 2500k @4.4ghz
    1.3v+
    Idle:29-32 C
    Load:40-60 C
    Air
    Xigimteck LOKI
    P67 EXTREME4 Gen3
    G.Skill 8GB 1600
    9-9-9-24
    Windows 7

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •