Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can someone help me with this electronic light switch?!

ATX Mental Case

Default Can someone help me with this electronic light switch?!

Recently I decided to make a mechanical electric device to turn the light switch on and off in my room using my computer's parallel port. I'm in a hurry right now, so I don't really have time to explain it. So far, I've been unsuccessful with the circuit diagram I've created below. I kinda don't really know a lot of electronics stuff, and learned what I made there off of wikipedia :p Can someone show me why this circuit I've created doesn't make the solenoid do anything? I'll explain more later today :p The transistor model is MJE13007.

edit:
    I made the picture a link instead due to it being really big

http://img124.imageshack.us/img124/5664/img119yr6.jpg

Default Re: Can someone help me with this electronic light switch?!

i'm really no expert but wouldn't ypu need to have the transistor connected to ground on the paralell port?
    also please resize your pic or just link to it
    Quote Originally Posted by Crazy Buddhist View Post
    I'm starting to worry that I may become genuinely funny at some point. Then there will be no hope.

D'Oh