Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie to watercooling

ATX Mental Case

Default Newbie to watercooling

i have never used watercooling in any of my setups so i was wondering what i would need for a wc setup. i am completely new to this idea and i just want a plain and easy list of what i would need to make this work. lets say i want to cool everything possible in my computer (not everything, just as much as is reasonable). assuming money is no object, what are the best components and where can i get them?

Sunshine Flavored Lollipops Zephik's Avatar

Default Re: Newbie to watercooling

Reasonable? That would be the CPU and the GPU. Everything else, like the Northbridge, HDD's and PSU is just being an "enthusiast". Unless of course you are going for a "silent pc". Which is still pretty much being a "enthusiast". But the CPU and the GPU generate the most heat, so thats what you should be "water cooling". Especially if you are new to "water cooling". You can always add on later if you so wish.

So the next step is to decide on which kind of kit is better for you, 1/2inch tubing or 3/8th inch tubing? To decide on this, or at least how I would, we (as in I) need to know a few things. What is your PC case? What is your budget? What is your CPU and/or GPU? For me, those are the three main factors that will decide which size tubing is best for you, which will decide on numerous things. We can just throw in a bunch of stuff and hope for the best!
    People are stupid; given proper motivation, almost anyone will believe almost anything. Because people are stupid, they will believe a lie because they want to believe it's true, or because they are afraid it might be true. People’s heads are full of knowledge, facts, and beliefs, and most of it is false, yet they think it all true. People are stupid; they can only rarely tell the difference between a lie and the truth, and yet they are confident they can, and so are all the easier to fool.

Overclocked