Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 46

Thread: Linux?

  1. #21
    Sunshine Flavored Lollipops Zephik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    5,145

    Default Re: Linux?

    Also, how do I become the root user??

    -SnowFire
    People are stupid; given proper motivation, almost anyone will believe almost anything. Because people are stupid, they will believe a lie because they want to believe it's true, or because they are afraid it might be true. People’s heads are full of knowledge, facts, and beliefs, and most of it is false, yet they think it all true. People are stupid; they can only rarely tell the difference between a lie and the truth, and yet they are confident they can, and so are all the easier to fool.

  2. #22
    Sunshine Flavored Lollipops Zephik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    5,145

    Default Re: Linux?

    Nevermind that last one. I figured out the login as root.

    So what now?

    -SnowFire
    People are stupid; given proper motivation, almost anyone will believe almost anything. Because people are stupid, they will believe a lie because they want to believe it's true, or because they are afraid it might be true. People’s heads are full of knowledge, facts, and beliefs, and most of it is false, yet they think it all true. People are stupid; they can only rarely tell the difference between a lie and the truth, and yet they are confident they can, and so are all the easier to fool.

  3. #23
    Paradox Sausage DaveW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Scotland, UK (NOT England)
    Posts
    5,550

    Default Re: Linux?

    You want to use the command:
    Code:
    mkdir /dev/hdc
    Quote Originally Posted by jdbnsn
    Ideas are just knowledge soaked in alcohol.
    Quote Originally Posted by jdbnsn
    Did I just get in a Volvo? Volvo's don't have guns!

  4. #24
    Sunshine Flavored Lollipops Zephik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    5,145

    Default Re: Linux?

    Okay, so this is what I am doing. I type in this...

    sudo mkdir /media/iso
    sudo modprobe loop
    sudo mount file.iso /media/iso/ -t iso9660 -o loo
    p

    But then I get this...

    file.iso: No such file or directory

    lol why am I having so much trouble with this?

    -SnowFire
    People are stupid; given proper motivation, almost anyone will believe almost anything. Because people are stupid, they will believe a lie because they want to believe it's true, or because they are afraid it might be true. People’s heads are full of knowledge, facts, and beliefs, and most of it is false, yet they think it all true. People are stupid; they can only rarely tell the difference between a lie and the truth, and yet they are confident they can, and so are all the easier to fool.

  5. #25
    Paradox Sausage DaveW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Scotland, UK (NOT England)
    Posts
    5,550

    Default Re: Linux?

    It's just because you aren't used to Linux and the way it expects you use it yet.

    Code:
    sudo mount file.iso /media/iso/ -t iso9660 -o loop
    This is your problem. This line must be executed either in the same directory that the file.iso is in, or it must be turned into the absolute path to that file. eg:

    Code:
    sudo mount ~/file.iso /media/iso/ -t iso9660 -o loop
    Hope that helps.

    -Dave
    Quote Originally Posted by jdbnsn
    Ideas are just knowledge soaked in alcohol.
    Quote Originally Posted by jdbnsn
    Did I just get in a Volvo? Volvo's don't have guns!

  6. #26
    Sunshine Flavored Lollipops Zephik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    5,145

    Default Re: Linux?

    lol

    It says the same thing. Does it help to tell you that the .iso is on a CD in my CD-Drive? Maybe it isn't checking my drive for the files location?

    Also, where it says "file.iso" in "sudo mount ~/file.iso /media/iso/ -t iso9660 -o loop", Do I type in what the file I am trying to mount is called?

    -SnowFire
    People are stupid; given proper motivation, almost anyone will believe almost anything. Because people are stupid, they will believe a lie because they want to believe it's true, or because they are afraid it might be true. People’s heads are full of knowledge, facts, and beliefs, and most of it is false, yet they think it all true. People are stupid; they can only rarely tell the difference between a lie and the truth, and yet they are confident they can, and so are all the easier to fool.

  7. #27
    Paradox Sausage DaveW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Scotland, UK (NOT England)
    Posts
    5,550

    Default Re: Linux?

    Yes. And in order to access the stuff from a CD, you should be copying it to a location on your drive, such as ~/.

    -Dave
    Quote Originally Posted by jdbnsn
    Ideas are just knowledge soaked in alcohol.
    Quote Originally Posted by jdbnsn
    Did I just get in a Volvo? Volvo's don't have guns!

  8. #28
    Sunshine Flavored Lollipops Zephik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    5,145

    Default Re: Linux?

    How do I copy it to my drive? I can't even access it lol
    People are stupid; given proper motivation, almost anyone will believe almost anything. Because people are stupid, they will believe a lie because they want to believe it's true, or because they are afraid it might be true. People’s heads are full of knowledge, facts, and beliefs, and most of it is false, yet they think it all true. People are stupid; they can only rarely tell the difference between a lie and the truth, and yet they are confident they can, and so are all the easier to fool.

  9. #29
    Paradox Sausage DaveW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Scotland, UK (NOT England)
    Posts
    5,550

    Default Re: Linux?

    Not 100% certain. I think you can probably do it through the X windows system. I've never accessed a drive through the command line, although i think the drive is listed under /dev/drivename or something similar.

    -Dave
    Quote Originally Posted by jdbnsn
    Ideas are just knowledge soaked in alcohol.
    Quote Originally Posted by jdbnsn
    Did I just get in a Volvo? Volvo's don't have guns!

  10. #30
    Overclocked
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    402

    Default Re: Linux?

    There should be an icon on your desktop, for accessing the cd drive.

Similar Threads

  1. I. Love. Linux.
    By tybrenis in forum The Chatterbox
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-06-2006, 04:36 PM
  2. Linux Cube
    By NadeChaser in forum Works in progress
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 07-27-2006, 12:55 AM
  3. Linux?
    By onelegout in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 59
    Last Post: 05-31-2006, 10:04 AM
  4. Linux for n00bs...Q's I have
    By crazybillybob in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-13-2005, 06:04 PM
  5. linux?
    By niko7209 in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-27-2005, 01:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •