Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Future in Modding

Fresh Paint

Default Future in Modding

Hi,

I have been working in the IT industry for more than 10+ years, and have stumbled over the world of PC modding, and would like a general consensus on the future of PC Modding, and possible business careers for aspiring builders.

Tell me what you're thoughts

Thanks.

ATX Mental Case

I feel that the modding community will continue to grow with time. As for making money at it all, i think that would be much tougher. Since the whole point of modding is to create your own work i think that there will never be much of a pre-fab modded box market. Although I do see a lot of potential in mod sales and the sales of parts. There are already pleanty of modding sales sites out there, but one more could never hurt.
    "It's time to prove to your friends that you're worth a damn. Sometimes that means dying, sometimes it means killing a whole lot of people."

Fresh Paint

I agree, modding is through individual preference, but not everyone has the time to mod, or even build their own PC's. Ergo, the rise of DELL, IBM, etc etc But yes, alot of sites are popping up now selling modding supplies which is great. This is how I came to realize the growing popularity of Mods.

Thanks for the response, Chapel

Triton

Anodized

Well, just look at any auto modding. That has grown hugely within years and now people are starting to pay to have their Ricers modded for them! I think the same might happen with computers.
    As far as where and when...Nobody knows. All I know is that a Cyber Cafe with a "mod bar" in it would be cool (so instead of drinks ordered to your liking you throw down a little cash and you get a comp made to your taste). Just an idea.....
    Im 427 and I approved this post

Anodized

I see computers becoming much more personalized in the future.