Thread: How to ?

Overclocked

Default How to ?

So what do i need to watercool? Is it worth doing the gpu, the hard drive(s) and the chipset, or just the CPU? and what order do i plug them in?

also, would 4 small reservoirs restrict the flow two much? if you read my worklog (project t-virus), you'll see what im thinking.

Default Re: How to ?

I'm not an expert but you need a res (or the 4 you mentioned) a pump, a CPU block, a radiator, if you want a GPU block and ofcourse some tubing and connection stuff. It would also be handy if you could refill the system easy (and maybe also drain) so you might want to add a fill-/drainport...

As for the HDDs... you could cool them, but I don't think it is really necissary, it just depends on how far you want to go... you can also cool your northbridge and southbridge chips...

hope that helps you...

MitaPi

Well first of all you need a system worth water cooling. Unless you are running some stuff that puts out a good amount of heat you really dont need it other than for your CPU. But if you do need that lil bit of extra super cooling. Then go ahead and go for it. It does run you a nice pocket of cash though. Thats why I have decided to only cool my CPU. Look at the ZALMAN Reserator V1 2. That is a pretty good cpu/gpu cooler. It is exspensive though. If you want to cool JUST your cpu and you want to skip the agony of putting one together. Then I would advise the Thermaltake Silent Water. Its basically awesome at the price of about 70 dollars at Frozencpu.com. The best feature I think is the fact that you can take it out of the box, put into your computer, and turn it on. Its all preassembled and pre filled with coolant so its ready to go right out of the box. Well I hope I said something useful! Good luck!

Edit: