Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Building case from ground up... help? :P

Default Building case from ground up... help? :P

Alright, so I'm completely new to case modding, but not computers in general. For my current computer I need to basically build a case from scratch. I can't find a case nearly big enough for my needs and the current CM stacker just isn't working out.

I really need some help on the idea side, as all my parts are just flat out huge.

Inside will be:
    Tyan Thunder K8WE (huge motherboard)
    PC Power and Cooling 850 SSI (monster PSU)
    4x 5 1/4 bay devices (dvd, fan controller, removable hd tray, graphics card PSU)
    Pair of 7800gtx's
    Triple 120mm fan radiator from Danger Den, and the biggest pump they have available http://www.dangerdenstore.com/produc...&cat=84&page=1

I think that covers it for all the big stuff, my major problems are making the psu and radiator fit tidy, with room for the hoses/pump and resevoir.

So if any one wants to help me get started it would be much appreciated. BTW I'm looking to make a tower case, maybe at max 5 inches taller than a stacker (with it's casters).

Also no 3 1/4 drive bays are needed, my removable handles my hard drive needs.

Default Re: Building case from ground up... help? :P

If you're new to case modding and you want an entirely new case, I would suggest doing something different. Scratch building gives you ability to build however you want.

Pardon the pun, but think outside of the box.
    Think of something that represents you and see if you can do it. Since you're new to modding, this might be a bit much, or you might be alright with it. It's all about how much time you want to invest and how patient you are. Having someone who works with metal and plastics around would help immensly. They can teach you how to do what you want.

If you want a larger case, look at 4U+ rackmount server cases. Some of them are huge. The bigger the U the bigger the case.