Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: One Last Time - Black Cherry

Stupidity feeds my children blueonblack's Avatar

Default One Last Time - Black Cherry

So here I am again, back where it all started. I stumbled upon TBCS completely by accident in 2008, though it's had to believe it's only been that long. Kind of a lot's happened since then.

I honestly cannot recall what it was that I was looking for that brought me here, but I am really glad it did. I've been tinkering with things as long as I can recall and building my own PCs since the K6-2 450, but the concept of personalizing a PC hadn't even occurred to me until I came here. So for that, thanks TBCS!

I recall I went completely over the top right off the bat, as is my pattern, and made my first mod. It was so bad that no one by me ever saw it. That's what made me decide that modding wasn't my thing. I was a builder. I went from there to make my own case from the ground up in project Onyx.

This is a worklog, not a history lesson I know, but bear with me for a minute, as it is actually relevant. Eventually a couple of years later I made Open Air, a case for a competition at DecryptedTech.com. That case was made specifically to fit on the filing cabinet beside my desk, and their widths are exactly the same. I really liked that case.

The owner of Decrypted Tech asked me to make something for Cooler Master to display their (then) new closed-loop water cooler at CES, which led to Open Air Mk 2. (See a pattern here?)

So finally to this project. Sorry for the heavy lead-in. I've decided it's time to get out of the custom PC world and move on to something else. I love it but it just doesn't give the satisfaction it once did. Having said that, I couldn't move on without building one last nice custom PC, this one for myself. Which brings me, finally, to project: Black Cherry.

(Disclaimer: I had not intended to do a worklog at all on this project, so these first pics are missing quite a bit of the initial construction.)