Thread: General Modding Questions. . .

Default General Modding Questions. . .

I am new to modding, never really having done much modding at all myself.. so I have a few questions.

1) Is there any tutorial that is indepth enough that would make me want to attempt using a laptop screen as a screen for a case? From what I have read it is very difficult because laptop screens use a much different/proprietary interface instead of VGA and the like... (which i never thought about, but yeah it seems obvious). There are SOOO many broken laptops being sold on ebay, and most of which seem to have working screens. If I could truly learn exactly how to convert one for VGA use, it would be amazing. Do you know if there is a certain brand of laptop that is easier to convert/interface into VGA?

2) Also, on that same note.... are there any decently cheap TFT/LCDs that are of decent quality and quite easy(i would like to see a tutorial on it, if it doesnt have a vga port/cable) to hook up via VGA?

3) I really like the "sliding door" idea using old CDROM motors.. But it seems that it is over my head how to do it. I've seen plenty of Project logs, etc that show it being done, but i cant find ANY tutorials anywhere!!

4) I am interested in creating a "media case" to house my PSX, DVD Player, and Stereo, all of which are piled beside my TV. I would like it to be a custom box that those three components can be in. What materials would you suggest?, How easy is it to rewire buttons (from the front of the stereo, dvd player, and psx)?, or is there a mechanical solution ... where you can have buttons on the outside of the case that when pressed, just mechanically press the buttons behind them?....

Sorry to ask so many questions, I am sure I will have more... but... I've been wondering about these various things, and I've had the hardest time googling and trying to get any good info...

Default Re: General Modding Questions. . .

Nice questions, they should get some heads spinning.