Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Motorized NZXT Switch 810 Top Vent

Unlocked/Overclocked/Never Stock

Default Motorized NZXT Switch 810 Top Vent

After reading SXRGuyinMA's review of the NZXT Switch 810 Hybrid, jdbnsn had a sweet idea:

Quote Originally Posted by jdbnsn View Post
    That top vent is interesting, I think it would be cool to have that motorized with a small PIC controlled that lets you program it to open and close with power up/down as well as always closed or open. Pretty cool features altogether though.
    I think it's a good project idea, especially if it could be temperature-controlled, a la Tempest SXR's louvers. Honestly, it sounds like a project I'd like to try myself, but I'm a complete noob when it comes to custom electronics, even after reading the 3-part series on them here on the forums.

So, what do the rest of you all think?
    http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...e.php?u=555808

Quote Originally Posted by RogueOpportunist View Post
    In my experience the vast majority of "tech problems" are ID-10-T errors, usually caused by a nut loose on the keyboard.

Its not cool till its watercooled. Fuganater's Avatar

Default Re: Motorized NZXT Switch 810 Top Vent

There are some mods out there for a diff case that uses a servo and temp sensor to open/close the vents.

Only issue I see with the vents is that they are only 50% open when opened. I'd probably cut them out and add louvers that open closer to 100%... but then I have other, more interesting plans for a cooling tower mod...
    I have a hammer! I can put things together! I can knock things apart! I can alter my environment at will and make an incredible din all the while! -Calvin

Practice random acts of generosity Omega's Avatar

I think it was SXRguyinMA that had something like that on his rig, but it had louvers which changed angle depending on temperature and computer power status.