Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Painting help

Overclocked

Default Painting help

Okay so basically I was surfing the worklogs and went on the HP-Server from Defyant (nice work ) and I felt in love with this color finish :
    Quote Originally Posted by Defyant
    With the Fans ready and the painted front touch dry ..the front of the case can be fitted up for a looksee

Id like some help to get this finish, I really love the way the black reflects the lights, and I never painted anything in my life (except at school, but this doesnt count much, eh) so I dont know a sh!t about painting. Its like telling to someone who doesnt know what is RAM to go in his bios to overclock his computer... im a noob

Altho right now I did not began the modding I wanted to do, but its coming soon, I must plan to have some cash to buy probly a 120mm fan, probly a PVC tube for a blowhole, paint, and all other stuff Ill need for this

Rankenphile

Default Re: Painting help

The best start would be to read through this thread, which will give you a good primer (no pun intended) on the basics of painting.

The real basics of painting are: clean it, sand it, prime it, sand it, paint it, sand it, paint it, sand it, paint it, sand it, clearcoat it, sand it, clearcoat it, sand it, buff it, wait eight weeks, wax it. Always use very light coats, always let them dry thoroughly. Take your time, and you'll have show-quality paint jobs every time.

To me that doesnt look like paint at all (i know it is but...) It looks just like a jiffy marker. They have that slight purple reflexion to em.

The idea with the sanding is to ruff up the paint so the next coat really sticks well. if you sand through to the primer below its pretty much a do-over

I Get decent results when i pre sand to smooth then apply paint. but it all depends on how nice you want your paint job to be.

If you fallow ranken's technique you should get a final result that would make funk master flex jealous.

Overclocked