Thread: Wood Micro-Atx Case

Smile New Modder - Wood Micro-Atx Case Idea

Hi,

This is my first attempt at doing a mod (I built a compy over Christmas break but it's in a really crappy case). Anyway, I found this computer with a 1ghz processor, 128 mb video card, power supply etc.

Actually, I found it in a dumpster, took it home, and discovered that other than having no ram, one bad ide port, and no optical drives, it ran great. Since I have another computer, this other one just sits around and I recently got the idea to do a mod for it. My brother is really into doing things with wood (I'm not so bad meself ) and so I thought it might be fun to do an all wood case.

Currently I'm looking for advice on what motherboard to get (I'm currently thinking smaller is better for what I want to do), recomendations on how to cool this sucker (I'm starting out with some metal from an old case to put the mobo etc on, the the outside is going to be wood), and also I'm kinda curious if anyone has ever sold a modded computer. I'd really like to hang onto this one, but being only a poor student, I need money and + I can use what I learn on this case to do a totally awesome mod on me other one.

I don't have much experience with cooling. On the computer that I built, I have 2x120mm fans 1x60mm fans, and the fans on the processor, video card, and power supply. The only problem is mine has distinguishable air rushing noises. I'd like this model to sit on a desk, be horizontal in nature, and not sound like a wind tunnel. I have no experience with water cooling and since I don't know anyone else who has done it I'd rather not try to do it on this one.

I'm at the really basic design stages now (I have a video card, power supply, processor, and 40gig wester digital hd). I have yet to buy the rest of the parts so any suggestions are welcome and greatly appreciated.

Thanks VERY much!!!!!!!!!!

EHD