Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: More paint questions

Default More paint questions

Waht's the best way to prep a textured surface like this:

for painting? I don't want to lose that texture if possible, although I suspect the paint might not sit too well on it, and run into the channels anyway.

It's the frame for the front panel on this:

There's some damage to the top left side, so smooth may be the way to go.

I was thinking about using body filler then sanding it until I can see the pattern starting to show. That would give me an indication that it's even.

I'm planning to use acrylic from an aerosol. Metallic blue.

Rankenphile

Default Re: More paint questions

I'm not an expert when it comes to painting, so bear that in mind and take my advice with a grain of salt.

Your first step for painting this piece should be to clean it thoroughly. Soap and water should take care of it.

For that damaged edge, body filler should work fine. In order to preserve the texture, look for something, like a strip of leather, that has a similar texture. Sand the edge there and apply your body filler in a very thin stroke over the sanded area, let the filler set for a few minutes, then apply the leather carefully but firmly over the filler, pressing to apply the texture to the surface. Note that this will ruin the leather, obviously, so don't use your jacket or anything. Peel the leather off slowly and inspect the work. Use sandpaper along the edges to smooth things together and, with any luck, you should have a relatively seamless texture.