Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hardware advice for retro gaming rig

Default Hardware advice for retro gaming rig

Hi all, been toying with a few ideas recently and it's brought me back to a previous musing on building a pc to pay homage to one of my favourite all-time games. I made a Sketchup way back of what I might be able to do but I based it around the technology in my antique Win95 rig (because I already had it!)

I'm thinking now that it would probably be a much better idea to start from scratch as it would give me a more stable, more compact and much longer lasting result. But I've never tried to make an old rig before so I'm hoping for some help from those who know more than myself on such things!

I'm a hardcore XP fan and based on how utterly crap Vista and 7 seem to be I will continue building my current rigs with that. For a retro rig however I'd like to return to basics as it will be intended to run older games that aren't particularly compatible or stable with newer versions of Windows. I'm thinking it'll let me throw out or recycle a few of the computers I'm stuill hanging onto from the old days this way as well as save me downloading so many patches and emulators and such to get these games running!

So what I'd like to end up with is the ability to run 95,98 and 2000 on this comp, something I've never toyed with before so some advice on multiple OS's would be great as I've not got the first idea! I'll be wanting support for floppies and cd's due to the purpose of the rig and some form of more modern removable storage would be good too. USB would be great but I have no idea how possible that would be based on the dated OS's in question...

Of course games that are old enough to warrant installation on this system rather than my current XP one will almost certainly run at maximum efficiency on even the most basic on-board features of a semi-modern board but again please correct me if I'm wrong.