Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Laptop Manufacturer's - Which ones best?

Default Laptop Manufacturer's - Which ones best?

Hello TBCS!

Okay so im not like a complete noob when it comes to computers - but im not so great with laptops (my main focus is on desktops). So, im thinking of buying a laptop for my college course coming up (Computer Programming course, in VB6) - but im not sure which manufacturer is best. These are the ones i know of:

• Acer
    • Advent
    • Asus
    • Dell
    • Emachine/system
    • Fujitsu Siemens
    • Gateway
    • HP (Compaq)
    • IBM
    • Medion
    • Packard Bell
    • Sony Vaio
    • Toshiba

I've had an Acer and so has my sister, and they dont stand well against alot of use to be honest (i had the 5100 with the faulty HDD controller ¬¬). I dont really want a dell, because its dell. And im not that tight on budget to only buy a tacky Medion, Advent or Emachine/system.

So what are your experiences with laptops of the above manufacturers, which one do you recommend.

Default Re: Laptop Manufacturer's - Which ones best?

HP's are only good if you get into the Elitebook range.. and they arent cheap. Stay far far away from low end HPs.

Asus is my number one pick by far... reliability is very high, costs are very good.

\m/ d(-_-)b \m/

R9 290X+Kraken+Corsair H90, Xeon 5649@4ghz, Asus P6T-WS Pro

I have had 3 different manufacturer's laptops. Toshiba, Dell and ASUS. SO far my favorite is the ASUS, but that is because it is a high end model. The Toshiba's I have owned have also been good. No issues so far. Dell is pretty reliable, but I have only used the Inspiron models. Never had an issue with any of the Dells I have bought.
    "...Dumb all over, A little ugly on the side... "...Frank Zappa...

That's true I guess.. my XPS just keeps on working. The battery is toast, and a replacement is waaaaay too expensive for my budget, but the laptop itself is a trooper.