Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Newbie Questions

Fresh Paint

Default Newbie Questions

Hi I am new to the whole modding world. I have had a little experiance with some old hardware that I have managed to scrounge and now I would like to start to make it look a little better.

To this end I have started to design a case in PTC's Pro Desktop. One concern that I have had is that I want to have some of the pipes for the liquid cooling setup outside the case. One of the problems I have forseen is that I want to have the liquid going to the blocks and to the radiator on the side of the case. But I also want a big pipe on the front that will help show the temperature of the liquid through a change in colour. The only problem I can see with that is the pipe at the front is about 40mm od. So I was wondering if that would have any effect upon the effectivness of the loop if it goes something like this:

resivoir->pump->blocks->big pipe at the front->radiator->resivoir

Will I be able to do this with normal sized pipe in the rest of the loop?

Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by rexhunt; 06-01-2010 at 01:26 AM. Reason: improving readability

Default Re: Newbie Questions

There shouldn't be any problems with having a large diameter tube in your loop. The flow will slow down in the wider pipe and then have to be constricted again, which causes resistance. Just make sure your pump has 6-10ft or more of head pressure and you're good to go.
    I'll procrastinate tomorrow.

Will YOU be ready when the zombies rise? x88x's Avatar

Agreed. It will basically just act like a small reservoir. I'm not sure if it would actually be necessary/make a significant difference, but I would put the radiator(s) before the big tube in the loop, for the same reason you put reservoirs after the the radiators (flow and, to a lesser extent, temps). Are you wanting to have RGB LEDs lighting up the transparent tube or the fluid in it or something? Sounds like a great affect.