Thread: RaidMax Smilodon case ?

Fresh Paint

Question RaidMax Smilodon case ?

I have a RaidMax Smilodon case and I though I really like the case aside from its really noisy fans, I noticed recently that if I put it in standby or hibernate mode that there is no indication that it is actually in Standby mode.

I have another PC where it blinks the power light when it is in Standby mode (though I believe that what I am calling Standby is actually hibernate though not sure why Standby is acting more like hibernate).

I would have thought that the lights around the door of the Smilodon case would blink, but they don't. So, I was wondering if there was a way for me to add a LED to my case to give that indication. I would imagine that I would have to split off from the wires going to the power switch to power the LED, but I thought I would ask just to be sure. I have never done any mods to a case before other than to install fans.

Will YOU be ready when the zombies rise? x88x's Avatar

Default Re: RaidMax Smilodon case ?

Well, first, welcome to TBCS! I hope you enjoy it here.

As for the problem you're having, unfortunately I'm pretty sure it's gonna be a bit more complicated than you're thinking.

First, to pinpoint what you're looking for:
    hibernation == completely off but machine state saved in memory
    standby == low-power state, comes back on when you hit the mouse/keyboard/etc

The blinking light behavior you're talking about is generally controlled by the MBB, sending different signals to the power LED depending on what power state the computer is in. If you're looking to get the blinky on hibernate, then you're gonna have a problem since the computer is actually powered off, and the MBB has no way of knowing that you're in 'hibernate'. Standby, however, is feasible, but if your MBB isn't already putting out that signal to your power LED, you're gonna have to fab something yourself.