Thread: RAID drives missing

Default RAID drives missing

Hello everybody,

I have a quick question about RAID volumes, and forgive me but I'm a total noob when it comes to RAID.

I originally had a 1.5TB drive with everything, then I installed two 750GB drives in raid0 which worked fine. Both the raid0 array and the 1.5TB storage drive showed up in windows explorer as discreet drives. But then I installed two 500GB drives in a raid1 array (set up through the Intel Matrix raid driver like the other array) so that I could have mirrored copies for my more important files. However, this new array does not show up in window explorer. When I first boot to windows 7 desktop there is a message from the taskbar stating that data protection is enabled and functioning properly and when I click it it opens up the Intel software which shows all my drives as they were set up. Yet still no drive volume in explorer. In the way I have this set up, is this new array just mirroring my other array?

By the way, the OS is on the two 750GB drives in raid0
    "At the midpoint on the journey of life, I found myself in a dark forest, for the clear path was lost..." -Dante Alighieri

Like a Lightning Bolt in Your Cheerios! Drum Thumper's Avatar

Default Re: RAID drives missing

On board RAID or a separate card? I'm thinking you can't duplex (if that's the term I am looking for) off of one source.
    Quote Originally Posted by artoodeeto View Post
    aw heck guys. We're modders. Let's just build our own, shall we?

DrumThumper.net || The Brewing Art ||
    My Flickr Stream

Try going: Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Computer Management -> Storage

It most likely just needs to be formatted for windows.
    Quote Originally Posted by Lothair View Post
    I guess it's just widely used and has had some of the best people in the world work on it, costing a ridiculous amount of money, for no actual reason. :/
    Have you checked out the front page lately?
    Projects: