Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: N00b extremely to modding and appreciate any tips and advice

Fresh Paint

Default N00b extremely to modding and appreciate any tips and advice

Basically im here because i received a xbox 360 for free because it had overheated and has the red ring of death. it is one of the original no hdmi port, production date on the metal bottom case where the mobo sits is 10/02/06... What id like to do is cut a design out on the case, back it with some sort of plexiglass, illuminate it and the innards, add a couple extra fans, and lastly give it a nice paint job.

Ive already looked up and am almost done fixing the rrod, if the fix doesnt work im probably gonna scrap the idea of modding it, iono... kinda waitin on that. Im following Team HYBRID's Ultimate X-Clamp Fix, if i theres a better guide, please let me know but i researched the topic of fixing the rrod for about a week before i even started to take the 360 apart.

Im new to the whole case modding thing, id like a nice sized biohazard symbol cut out of the case and red leds inside, i plan on getting the red led fans and somewhere on here i saw someone set up leds on the plexiglass window for an etch and it looked really good, kinda interested in that as well. dont wanna over do it with too much led light though. Ive got most of the necessary tools for doing this to the case, i think... The main thing im not sure of is how to mount the plexiglass to the case.

Last but not least, id like to have a nice red and or black metallic paint job with a nice finish.

I look forward to the help, tips, and ideas along the way... And will start a worklog soon, kinda hard as i dont have a camera but i might be able to borrow one...

Default Re: N00b extremely to modding and appreciate any tips and advice

i say go water that will stop overheating.

http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=603660
    CPU: Q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (4.2GHz max) / 4790k 4.8ghz @1.265v
    GPU: 9800GTX /GTX780 hydrocopper