Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to Connect Your PC to Your Stereo

Project: Elegant-Li The boy 4rm oz's Avatar

Default How to Connect Your PC to Your Stereo

After spending the best part of 6 years learning many many things about PC tech and trends I have only recently broadened my view to the very wide world of audio devices.

Now I know I have no where near as much knowledge as Luke122 and the other Audiophiles on the forum but I thought I would piece together a tutorial on the first thing audio inspired I ever tried. Connecting my stereo to my PC.

First I will let you know a little about the different types of connections a PC and stereo may have.
    Analog:
    The most basic of connections, all PCs will have this.

(The small round sockets)
    Digital (Coaxial):
    A more advanced type of connection. Not all PCs will have this but if you have a sound card or a high end motherboard you should have access to this connection.

Digital (Optical):
    Digital Optical is the best type of connection you can utilise. Not many PCs will support this type of connection as default but once again if you have a high end motherboard or a good sound card you should have access to this connection.

Now that we know a little bit about the connections available we need to check which types of connections are available to us via our PC and stereo.
    As you can see my PC has both Analog and Digital Coaxial connections.

My stereo (Pioneer A390) only has an Analog connection which is labelled as “AUX”.

I was hoping to be able to use the Digital Coaxial connection for this but due to the lack of it on my stereo I will be attaching my PC to my stereo via an Analog connection.

What you will need:
    RCA-3.5mm splitter
    3.5mm extension cable with male plugs (size depending on distance between PC and stereo)
    And a 3.5mm female-female adapter

First I plug my RCA-3.5mm splitter into the plugs labelled “AUX” on the rear of my stereo.